Skip to content
Pathway Eleven11+ preparation
All guides 11 plus preparation Mock tests West Midlands 11 plus
Sign in
  1. Home
  2. Guides
  3. Pathway Eleven or Atom?
Comparison

Pathway Eleven or Atom Learning?

Written by James Ford, education writer · Reviewed by Farah Hussain, qualified teacher

Published 6 September 2026 · Last updated 6 September 2026

Two adaptive platforms, priced and shaped differently.

One plan, £49 a month, everything included No tier to choose and nothing behind an upgrade Start your free week → Free for 7 days, then £49 a month. Cancel any time.

Both are adaptive online platforms. Atom publishes three plans for ages seven to eleven plus at £39.99, £59.99 and £69.99 a month, with mock tests listed on the top tier only. Pathway Eleven is one plan at forty-nine pounds a month with everything included, built around the West Midlands consortium test.

On this page What separates them Atom's published plans Cost side by side Where they differ An alternative to Atom When Atom fits When we fit

The quick comparison

  • Atom publishes three plans. £39.99, £59.99 and £69.99 a month for the 11 plus age range.
  • Mock tests are listed on Exam Prep Plus only. That is Atom’s top tier, at £69.99 a month.
  • Pathway Eleven is one plan at £49.00 a month. No tier to choose, first week free, cancel any time, with mock rehearsals opening from Year 4 on membership.
  • Every question is reviewed by a qualified teacher. Farah Hussain, named on every page of this site.

How this comparison is written. Every Atom fact and figure below was read from Atom Learning's own public pages on 5 September 2026 and is linked in the Sources block at the foot. Atom is a serious product with a great deal in it, and nothing here says otherwise. Prices and features on both sides change, so check both before deciding.

Two adaptive platforms: what separates them?

Two adaptive platforms that overlap heavily. Six questions separate them.

Six decisions, two adaptive platforms side by side
The decisionAtom LearningPathway Eleven
How closely does it follow the child? YesYes. Atom publishes that as a child learns, questions adapt to build confidence steadily, with a personalised learning plan. YesYes. The Starting Assessment sets the opening level, and each day's work follows from what the days before it showed.
Are full mocks included? Top plan onlyYes, on the plans that include it. Atom's pricing page lists unlimited mock tests, online and printable, on Exam Prep Plus only. YesYes, on the one plan. Full mock papers under real exam timings, marked the moment they are submitted, with a report on what to fix. Mock rehearsals open from Year 4 on membership.
Is a reviewer named? Teachers, not namedAtom's own 11 plus page carries the label “Designed by teachers”; what it does not do is name an individual. Read 6 September 2026. YesEvery question in the bank is reviewed and approved by a qualified teacher, Farah Hussain, who is named on every page of this site.
What reporting does a parent get? YesYes. Atom publishes a standardised age score with performance by subject and topic, and comparison against data from successful applicants to a target school. YesYes. The parent view records minutes done, mocks completed and accuracy, overall and by subject.
What is the monthly price? £39.99, £59.99 or £69.99 a month depending on tier, with lower equivalents when paid annually. £49 a month, one plan, everything included, cancel any time. The first week is free.
Which ages does it cover? Ages 7 to 11 plusAtom's pricing page lists plans for ages seven to eleven plus. Its 11 plus page states no year-group range, read 6 September 2026, so this page makes no claim about where Atom's content starts. YesYes, as one ladder. Year 3 is a normal place to start, and the difficulty steps up as a child strengthens.

What does Atom publish about its plans?

Atom's pricing page lists three plans for ages seven to eleven plus. English, Maths, Science, described as daily maths, English and science practice personalised to where a child is today. Exam Prep, described as a structured learning plan across all subjects including verbal and non-verbal reasoning. And Exam Prep Plus, described as everything in Exam Prep plus unlimited mock tests and detailed feedback on performance, with online and printable paper tests carrying instant marking.

On its 11 plus page Atom describes a topic library of flashcards, helpsheets and videos, progress reporting that gives a standardised age score with performance by subject and topic, and comparison against data from successful applicants to a target grammar school. It names GL Assessment as a provider used by many grammar schools in England and refers to other providers including CSSE, ISEB and CAT4. Pathway Eleven is an independent service and is not affiliated with or endorsed by GL Assessment.

Atom's pricing page offers a free trial on each plan and does not state its length on that page, so this comparison does not state one either.

How do the prices compare?

Figures below are transcriptions from Atom's own pricing page and from our own pricing section, both read on 5 September 2026.

Published monthly prices for the 11 plus age range
PlanMonthlyAnnual, per monthMock tests included?
Atom, English Maths Science £39.99 £31.99, billed £383.90 yearly Not listed on this plan
Atom, Exam Prep £59.99 £47.99, billed £575.90 yearly Not listed on this plan
Atom, Exam Prep Plus £69.99 £55.99, billed £671.90 yearly Yes, unlimited, online and printable
Pathway Eleven £49.00 No annual plan. One monthly price. Yes, on the one plan, from Year 4

The comparison a parent should draw is not simply which number is smaller. It is which plan contains the thing you came for. Reasoning and mock rehearsal are the two things a West Midlands family needs most, because the shared test is half English and verbal reasoning and is sat as timed multiple-choice sections. On the Atom side those sit on the higher tiers; on ours there is one plan and no upgrade to reach for.

A ladder of published monthly prices showing where mock tests sit: not listed on Atom's two lower plans, listed on its top plan at sixty-nine pounds ninety-nine, and on the single Pathway Eleven plan at forty-nine pounds. Atom, English Maths Science, £39.99 Mock tests not listed Atom, Exam Prep, £59.99 Mock tests not listed Atom, Exam Prep Plus, £69.99 Unlimited mock tests listed Pathway Eleven, one plan, £49.00 Mock rehearsals from Year 4
Bar length is the published monthly price, drawn to one scale. Atom’s figures were read on its own pricing page on 5 September 2026 and plan contents change, so check them before deciding. The point of the drawing is not which bar is shortest: it is which bar carries the thing you came for.

Would you rather judge a plan than a pricing table? Start your free week: it opens with the Starting Assessment, and the daily plan that follows is what your child actually meets.

Want to compare the questions, not the pricing pages?

Feature lists read much the same on any two platforms. Questions do not. Leave an address and the pack of practice papers in the West Midlands format comes over, with answer sheets and worked answers, so you can judge ours against anything else your child is working through. An occasional preparation email follows.

Done. The pack is on its way.

What arrives is a link rather than a file, so open it on whatever you print from and put the questions beside whichever platform your child is trying this week.

Nothing in a few minutes usually means the junk folder. If it is not there either, info@pathwayeleven.co.uk reaches a person who will resend it.

Your address is used to send you the practice papers and the occasional preparation email described above, and nothing else. You can unsubscribe from any of them, and the Privacy Notice sets out what is stored and how to have it deleted.

Where do the two genuinely differ?

One plan against three. Atom's structure lets a family buy less if they want less, and it also means deciding which tier you need before you know what your child needs. Pathway Eleven has one plan at £49 a month, which is simpler and is not always cheaper: at £39.99 Atom's entry plan costs less than ours, and at £69.99 its top plan costs more.

National breadth against regional depth. Atom covers several assessment providers and publishes school-comparison data across the country. Pathway Eleven is built around the shared West Midlands consortium test, and this site's own school directory carries a page for each of the nineteen partnership schools it lists, alongside the published dates for the current cycle and the published score thresholds, each one sourced. If you are applying in the West Midlands that depth is the difference; if you are applying elsewhere it is not.

A named reviewer. Every question in our bank is reviewed and approved by a qualified teacher, Farah Hussain, and her name appears on every page of this site alongside the writer's. Atom's own 11 plus page carries the label “Designed by teachers”; what it does not do is name an individual, as read on 6 September 2026. Whether that matters to you is a fair question, and it is a difference a parent can check rather than take on trust.

Where the ladder starts. Atom's pricing page lists plans for ages seven to eleven plus. Its 11 plus page states no year-group range for its content, read 6 September 2026, so nothing here is claimed about where Atom's ladder begins: ask Atom what it offers at your child's age. What Pathway Eleven publishes about its own is plain. Year 3 is a normal place to begin, with gentle untimed work at that age. Mock papers follow a year after that, from Year 4.

Is there a UK alternative to Atom Learning for the West Midlands test?

Yes, and this site is one of them, so take what follows as an interested party setting out its own arrangements next to Atom's published ones. Three things decide it for most families: how mock rehearsals are allocated, how much the thing asks of a child week to week, and what it costs.

How mock rehearsals are allocated. Here there is one plan, so there is no allocation to work out: full mock rehearsals are part of full membership rather than the free trial, they unlock from Year 4, and a parent chooses when each one is sat. Atom sets its own out on its pricing page, read on 6 September 2026, where “Unlimited mock tests” and “Online and printable paper tests with instant marking and feedback” are listed on Exam prep plus, and the mock-tests row on the English, maths, science plan and on Exam prep reads “Not included”. That is Atom's own wording for its own plans, not a judgement on them, and a family that wants mocks simply needs to know which line it is buying.

How much it asks week to week. Our plan gives a child one day's work at a time, chosen from where they actually are, and the family decides when it happens and how long the sitting runs. It can be paused, and the difficulty climbs as the child strengthens rather than opening at exam level, which is why Year 3 is a normal place to start here. Nothing on this site sets a quota a parent has to keep up with.

What it costs to get the whole thing. One price of £49 a month covers all four areas the shared West Midlands test samples, with the first week free and cancellation done in the app. Atom publishes £39.99, £59.99 and £69.99 a month, with annual equivalents of £31.99, £47.99 and £55.99 billed at £383.90, £575.90 and £671.90 yearly, read on its pricing page on 6 September 2026. Its entry plan lists English, maths and science; verbal and non-verbal reasoning appear on the two Exam prep plans. If reasoning and mocks are what you came for, compare our one line against those two, not against the entry price.

When Atom Learning is the stronger choice

There are families for whom Atom is plainly the better buy, and a comparison that pretends otherwise is not worth reading. These are the criteria.

  • You are applying outside the West Midlands. Atom covers several assessment providers and publishes school-comparison data across the country; our regional depth is worth nothing to you.
  • You want science alongside the entrance-test subjects. Science is listed on all three of Atom's plans. It is not part of the shared West Midlands test and it is not part of our plan.
  • You want the national comparison data. Atom publishes a standardised age score set against data from successful applicants to a target school.
  • You want to pay yearly for a lower monthly equivalent. Atom publishes annual equivalents of £31.99, £47.99 and £55.99 a month. We have no annual plan.
  • You want the cheapest entry point and can do without reasoning. Atom's English, maths and science plan is £39.99 a month, below our £49.

When Pathway Eleven is the stronger choice

  • You are sitting the shared West Midlands test. The plan is built to its format, and this site carries a page for each partnership school it lists, with dates and score thresholds, each one sourced.
  • You want reasoning and mock rehearsal on the plan you already pay for. One price, no upgrade to reach for. Mock rehearsals are part of full membership rather than the trial, and they unlock from Year 4.
  • You want to know who checked the questions. Every question in the bank is reviewed and approved by a qualified teacher, Farah Hussain, named on every page of this site.
  • You are starting in Year 3 or Year 4. One ladder runs to the test, opening gentle and untimed and stepping up as the child strengthens.
  • You would rather not pick a tier. There is one plan, so nothing your child needs sits behind a decision you had to make before you knew them.

The most useful thing you can do is try both. Both offer a free trial, both are cancellable, and a fortnight of a child actually using something tells you more than any comparison table, including this one.

Pathway Eleven is an online 11 plus preparation service built as one plan rather than a ladder of them: a personalised daily plan of revision, guided teaching and timed practice, with every question reviewed and approved by a qualified teacher. Full mock rehearsals are part of full membership rather than the trial, and they unlock from Year 4. The single price of £49 a month covers all four areas from Year 3 to the test, the first week costs nothing, and cancelling is done in the app.

Common questions about the two platforms

How much does Atom Learning cost?+

Atom's pricing page lists three plans for ages seven to eleven plus: thirty-nine pounds ninety-nine a month, fifty-nine pounds ninety-nine, and sixty-nine pounds ninety-nine, with annual equivalents of thirty-one pounds ninety-nine, forty-seven pounds ninety-nine and fifty-five pounds ninety-nine a month. Read on 5 September 2026.

Which Atom plan includes mock tests?+

Atom's pricing page lists unlimited mock tests, online and printable with instant marking and feedback, on Exam Prep Plus, its highest tier for the seven to eleven plus range. The two lower plans do not list mock tests. Check Atom's own page, because plan contents change.

Is Pathway Eleven cheaper than Atom Learning?+

It depends which plan you compare. Pathway Eleven is forty-nine pounds a month with everything included. Atom's entry plan is thirty-nine pounds ninety-nine and does not list reasoning or mock tests; its Exam Prep Plus plan, which does list unlimited mock tests, is sixty-nine pounds ninety-nine a month.

Does Atom Learning cover the West Midlands test?+

Atom names GL Assessment as a provider used by many grammar schools in England and refers to other providers as well, so its material covers the format broadly. What it does not publish is a page for each West Midlands partnership school, the current cycle's dates or the published score thresholds, which is the regional depth this site is built around.

Which is better for a child in Year 3?+

Pathway Eleven describes Year 3 as a normal place to begin, with short gentle untimed work, and the difficulty steps up as a child strengthens. Atom's pricing page lists plans for ages seven to eleven plus, and its 11 plus page states no year-group range for its content, so this page makes no claim about where Atom starts. If you are starting early, ask each one what it offers at your child's age.

How are mock tests and daily workload handled on Pathway Eleven?+

There is one plan, so mock rehearsals are not rationed by tier. They are part of full membership rather than the free trial, they unlock from Year 4, and a parent decides when one is sat. Day to day the plan sets that day's work, and the family chooses when it happens and how long it runs. Atom publishes its own arrangement on its pricing page, where unlimited mock tests are listed on Exam prep plus and the other two plans are marked Not included, read on 6 September 2026.

Can you use both platforms at once?+

You can, and most families will not want to pay for two subscriptions at the same time. A more useful approach is to run each free trial in turn and watch which one your child actually opens without being asked, because usage is the thing that decides whether any platform is worth the money.

Every Atom figure, and the day it was read

Competitor prices and plan contents move without notice, so each entry below records the Atom page a figure came from and the date it was read there. Where this page relies on something Atom does not publish, the check for that absence is dated too.

  • Atom Learning, pricing. Three plans for ages seven to eleven plus at £39.99, £59.99 and £69.99 a month, with annual equivalents of £31.99, £47.99 and £55.99 a month billed at £383.90, £575.90 and £671.90 yearly, and unlimited online and printable mock tests listed on Exam Prep Plus. Re-read on 6 September 2026 for the plan structure quoted above: “Unlimited mock tests” and “Online and printable paper tests with instant marking and feedback” on Exam prep plus, a mock-tests row reading “Not included” on the other two plans, and science listed on all three with verbal and non-verbal reasoning on the two Exam prep plans. Checked 6 September 2026.
  • Atom Learning, 11 plus. Adaptive questions that adapt as a child learns, a topic library of flashcards, helpsheets and videos, and reporting that gives a standardised age score with performance by subject and topic. The page carries the label “Designed by teachers”. Re-read on 6 September 2026 for two absences this page relies on: it states no year-group range for its content, and it names no individual reviewer. Checked 6 September 2026.
  • West Midlands Grammar Schools, The entrance test. The shared regional test, its two papers of individually timed multiple-choice sections, and the published weighting of 50% English and verbal reasoning, 25% non-verbal reasoning and 25% mathematics. Checked 5 September 2026.

Keep reading before you decide

  • Pathway Eleven or an 11 plus tutor?, what a private tutor costs an hour in the West Midlands, and what the hour buys.
  • Pathway Eleven or Bond 11 plus books?, how a shelf of workbooks measures up against a subscription.
  • 11 plus tutor or an online course?, the longer editorial on how to choose between formats.
  • The West Midlands 11 plus entrance test, the shared paper, and this site's directory page for every partnership school it lists.
  • Birmingham 11 plus standardised scores explained, the published thresholds and cut-off history.
  • 11 plus mock tests online, what a mock rehearsal is for and how often to sit one.
  • 11 plus preparation: a guide for parents, the long read behind every comparison on this site.
  • What Pathway Eleven costs, one price with no tiers underneath it.
Get started One plan, nothing behind an upgrade.

Reasoning and timed practice sit on the same plan as everything else, with no upgrade to reach for. Full mock rehearsals are part of full membership rather than the trial, and they unlock from Year 4. The first week is free.

Start your free week →
Pathway Eleven11+ preparation

Personalised 11 plus preparation for children, with clear progress and practical guidance for parents.

Parent sign in →

Guides

All 11 plus guidesFree practice papers11 plus preparation guideWhat is the 11 plus?Grammar school test11 plus preparation in Year 311 plus preparation in Year 411 plus preparation in Year 5Online 11 plus mock testsTutor or online course?Preparing without a tutor11 plus exam stressWest Midlands 11 plusWest Midlands 11 plus datesBirmingham 11 plus scoresIs my child on track?How much practice a day?Is there creative writing?What is a good score?Can you retake the 11 plus?

Subjects

11 plus maths11 plus English11 plus vocabularyVerbal reasoningNon-verbal reasoningMaths topicsEnglish comprehension11 plus glossary

Company

HomeAbout Pathway ElevenPricingQuestionsContact usPathway Eleven or a tutor?Pathway Eleven or Bond?Pathway Eleven or Atom?

Legal

Privacy NoticeTerms of UseSafeguarding
© 2026 Pathway ElevenPrivate family accounts · No child email required · Contact us